Hoping for Advice - Braid drop hole cracked edge of the slot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hoping for Advice - Braid drop hole cracked edge of the slot

Hi everyone - I'm a newbie building his first routed slot car track.
    I'm at the point where I'm drilling the braid drops using a 1/4" bit - and as you can see from the attached photos, the drilling resulted in the slot chipping near the drop.

Would you recommend refilling the slot, gain, and holes with bondo and re-routing the slot and gain, and trying again to drill or maybe sand using a narrow file the gain drop?

Or - do you think this is passable and won't create a problem? I'm just concerned that a car's guide may catch where the crack is and flip the car out of the slot while racing.

In addition to the braid-drop holes, I included a couple of photos of the track as it currently stands.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or guidance you can offer.

Victor

plug those holes with some bondo and sand smooth. Drill 4 new holes a few inches away and use a 3/16 bit, braid will fit thru a 3/16 hole easy and you will still have some space between the hole and the slot. Looks like you'll have a nice track.
    Matt B
    So. In
    Crashers

Comment

Ditto when we build the drag strip I used a1/8 bit and filed it out to a slot
      the braid fit nice and snug which made a very smooth drop for power taps
      Dave
      Peterborough Ont
      CANADA

Comment

That looks like a NICE layout shaping up!!!

Comment

Was just wondering if after you put the braid in the hole that you drilled , couldn't you put a small dab of silicone around it ? You could use a bath tub silicone .

Comment

And very nice looking track I might add

Comment

Beautiful track! Beautiful space to put it as well, love the rounded windows. What is the footprint?

Comment