H&R AMT Corvair 8 Project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H&R AMT Corvair 8 Project

I’m a complete newbie in the slot car world, but a long time model builder. I thought it would be cool to make a static model into a slot car so I started this project a little while back. I’ve always been a Corvair fan so I thought I’d make this my first project. The car is built from an AMT/Ertl 1/25th scale Corvair kit set on an H&R chassis. I used the kit interior, but had to cut out the back seat to make room for the H&R Hawk motor. Back in the day, a company called Crown Engineering made a conversion kit to put a v8 in the back seat of the Corvair to make it a mid engined, independent suspension race car. Most conversions were for a small block Chevy, but a few big blocks were done. I’m a 348/409 Chevy fan also, so I took a motor out of an AMT 58 Chevy kit, cut the bottom end off, and set it in the back seat to cover the motor. I wanted to make the car in a rally theme so I added a driver and co-driver from Tamiya. This was also my first experiment with aluminum foil chrome on a model car. I love it. I’ll never hand paint chrome on a model again.

I originally just wanted to make the car run on a slot car track, but then I found Home Racing World and their proxy racing series. I found the 1/24 1/25 H&R classic chassis proxy race they held a couple years ago. I decided to build the car to those specs. The Corvair body was too narrow to fit the stock H&R wheels and tires so I purchased some CB Design wheels, Paul Gage tires, and a set of 1/24 scale CG SlotCars minilite inserts from Slotcar Corner to keep with that “trans am” car look from the 60’s and 70’s.

The car is heavy, partly from the full kit interior, but also the massive quantity of Shoe Goo I used to try and keep the car intact for a few runs around the track. I still have to finish the body mount and do fine tuning, but I’m happy to say I finally can see the finish line on this project.