Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ghost Car Racing

Hey guys,

I've been racing for a long time, had a 3 lane routed track, but I'm brand new to Carrera Digital. I understand the ghost car but is it possible to actually program 2-3 ghost cars and run a structured race through SmartRace or the Carrera app where you have a standing start from the starting grid for let's say a 50 lap race? Thanks for your help.

Jay

I don't run ghost cars all that much , but since you have no responses yet I will respond in the meantime.
    I don't have either of the apps, I am still using Carrera x-lap, the computer based software.
    As far as running 2-3 cars, it will depend on the length of your track as to how fast a ghost car will catch up with another [inevitably one car will be a bit faster than the other]. I would only run 2 ghosts, one in each lane, and disable their lane changing ability by putting a piece of electrical tape over the sensor on the bottom of the ghosts. Put one ghost in each lane and you will not have to worry about one catching the other in the same lane, and you can pass them whenever the opportunity presents itself. Also, if you have a pit lane you won't have to be concerned with a ghost entering the pit at full speed and ramming into you or other racers.
    I'm pretty sure all ghost cars are automatically programmed to ID#7, so I don't think there is any way to get individual lap times on the ghosts.
    I'm sure someone else with more experience with ghost cars and the apps will offer more help soon.
    Randy

Comment

"I'm pretty sure all ghost cars are automatically programmed to ID#7, so I don't think there is any way to get individual lap times on the ghosts."
      This was my finding some time back.You can run 3 ghost cars,but you will need to do as Randy says and cover the sensor on all but one ghost car.