No announcement yet.

The Triple Crown

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • The Triple Crown

    In the 1:1 Motorsport World it is widely considered that the Triple Crown for a Driver is winning the Monaco F1 Race, the Le Mans 24hr and the Indianapolis 500.

    To date, only one driver has achieved this – the U.K’s Graham Hill:

    5 times winner of Monaco F1 between 1963 & 1969

    Le Mans in 1972 with Henri Pescarolo in a Matra

    Indianapolis 500 in 1966

    But what got me pondering was what Nations have achieved the Triple Crown using multiple drivers?

    Well – obviously the UK, as per above…

    But then you have:

    New Zealand: Monaco - B McLaren; D Hulme ; Le Mans – McLaren, Amon ( etc ); Indy – Dixon

    Australia: Monaco – Brabham, Webber, Ricciardo; Le Mans – Schuppan, Brabham(s); Indy – Power

    France: Monaco – Prost (etc ); Le Mans – Pescarolo (etc ); Indy – Pagenaud (etc? )

    Italy: Monaco – Patrese (etc ); Le Mans – Pirro ( etc ); Indy - Ralph De Palma {Mario A’s nationality ?}

    Sweden: Monaco – Peterson; Le Mans – Johansson; Indy – Brack

    Canada: Monaco – Villeneuve; Le Mans – J Duff {1924}; Indy – Villeneuve

    Now, as far as I can tell:

    An American has never won the Monaco F1 race.

    A Brazilian has never won Le Mans.

    A German has never won Indy.

    But there’s probably others that I’ve missed…..

    All the way from Sydney, Australia.......

    Cheers, Tony.

  • #2
    What has frequently made this difficult to achieve is that Monaco and the Indy 500 have often both been staged on Memorial Day weekend.
    Bob G. ..... Boston, North Shore


    • #3
      Perhaps a discussion on Greg’s slot car chat is in order
      Many knowledgeable historians attend
      Peterborough Ont