I HATE replacing heater cores!!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I HATE replacing heater cores!!!!

On the 1st beautiful day of the year guess what I get to do? I have been putting this off for 2 years now because I know what the job involves. The motor is ready to go back in after a 10 month wait at the rebuilders. So I figured it was now or never on the heater core. Luckily I didn't run into any issues and did manage to get the fender lined back up reasonably well.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20220423_105529460_HDR.jpg
Views:	249
Size:	4.80 MB
ID:	159582
    Dave
    Saginaw Valley Raceway
    Only Rule: Just enjoy who you are racing with.

I hear ya worst one I ever did was a 69 Eldorado
    I hate heater cores too
    Dave
    Peterborough Ont
    CANADA

Comment

Dave, those inner fenders always get in the way when removing the nuts that hold the cover. I read about a trick years ago that really works great. A 1 inch hole saw. I did this on my first 65 Chevelle. One hole in the inner fender allows you to put a 1/4 inch drive socket right on the nut and saves hours of labor. On my current Chevelle I also did that trick on the drivers side inner fender to allow easy access to the nut that holds the clutch cross shaft on the frame bracket. Neat old Poncho.

I hope yo had a jack stand under that car. At the very least put the wheel and tire under the frame.
      Matt B
      So. In
      Crashers

Comment

I've always been convinced that the heater core is the first part on the assembly line, and the car is built around it.

Comment