Basic motor maintenance question.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic motor maintenance question.

I’m still new at this, have been running my cars about a year now on some of them. What if anything should be done for maintenance on stock motors? Ie, Scalextric, SCX, Carrera etc. I’ve done a drop of oil on the shaft but that’s it. Thanks for the tips.

Unless you open the can which is easy with most FC130's there's not much you can do.
    ​​​​​​Motors with holes in the can (NSR, SlotIt) you can at least spray motor cleaner in or drop it in an ultrasonic cleaner.
    Kevan - Isle of Man
    Life is like a box of Slot cars...🚓🚗🚚🚜

Comment

• Michael Squier
      Michael Squier commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks, that’s kind of what I was guessing. So, run em till they die which is probably a fairly long time anyway.

If you're oiling the bearings try to avoid the end bell bearing unless it's the smallest possible amount.
    Kevan - Isle of Man

Comment

I ruined a few Carrera motors by oiling them. Destroyed the commutator. I was able to resuscitate a few with contact cleaner and patience, but they were never the same. I would not recommend oiling motors. They come with some grease on the bearings already.

Comment

There's the proof, oiling the end bell will eventually get on the comm, oiling the can bearing however is perfectly safe.
        Kevan - Isle of Man

Comment

Run them until they slow down or squeal then one drop on each end and away you go if there’s any body left
          Dave
          Peterborough Ont
          CANADA

Comment

Originally posted by RexCadral View Post
            I would not recommend oiling motors. They come with some grease on the bearings already.

​​​​​​Just out of curiosity, which motors come with grease on the bushings????,.....I have yet to see one.