Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Considerations and questions for prepping and painting a NSR white kit

Hi folks,

I’m a noob when it comes to painting, but I have a white kit NSR 908/3 that’s been sitting on the shelf forever. With no work, and time on my hands, and good weather I thought it’s time to pull my finger out.

I’ve researched both the old and new forum, plus some other forums so advice on how best to proceed with painting white kits with a rattle can. Found some info, but only bits and pieces her and there - nothing definitive.

So thought I’d outline what I’ve found/interpreted. I know there are some very experienced modelers here that can confirm or point me in the right direction for how one goes about this.

Prepping White Body
    - lightly sand to scuff up body to take off the shine and allow the primer something to adhere to. Is 600 grit too rough, or should I go finer?
    - wash the body after sanding with a drop of dishwashing liquid in warm water with a toothbrush, rinse and dry with a lint free cloth

Primer
    - I’m going to use Tamiya fine primer from a spray can (white - as a base for pink)
    - need to ensure the can is well shaken and warm; put can in warm water prior to using - to help the paint flow better
    - first test spray on something else, then quick spray upside down, then clean out and wipe down the nozzle
    - light mist, 18” away, two to three quick passes on each section
    - let sit for at least 20 mins to cure
    - clean out any excess paint in panel lines with back of an X-acto knife, if need be
    - do second primer pass like the first, again at least 20 mins to set; repeat panel line clean up if need be
    - do a third light primer pass and let set up
    - wait overnight, do a we think sand of the primer with 1500 grit
    - clean body with dishwashing liquid and dry as above

Paint