Confused Motor?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused Motor?

Has anyone had this issue? This is the first time I have encountered this, wonder if it is more common.
    Purchased a new can motor, it runs backwards! the magnets were placed in the can backwards when assembled.

The post is not meant to complain or rant against any manufacturer, just want to know if anyone has encountered this?
    I know I can remedy this by switching wires to the braids or swap the magnets in the can (would make it illegal for racing).

I've seen someone drive a car round for a few laps, take the car off to clean the tyres and drive a different car for a few laps...put the first car back on the track and it went backwards....huh, what the....never sussed it out, had to swap the wires...go figure
    Print It, Build It, Race It, Improve It, Repeat...

Comment

I've been running slot car motors since 1966, I've never had one. I would think if you reversed the polarity (switched the wires on the guide) the motor would not be as efficient.

Comment

Did switch the wires to the braids.
        Going to pull the motor and Tach it in both directions. Will see if it runs better/faster than if it were correctly assembled. Just never encountered this.
        Was going to use it in a upcoming proxy.

Comment

i might be wrong but most of the mass produced motors that we run in 1/32 are set at zero timing

Comment

When I was a teenager one of my cobbers had a Suzuki 80 (2 stroke) which he stalled trying to go up a steep hill. Dunno what he did wrong but let his foot off the brake to try and balance himself and the front brake wouldn't hold on the dusty surface, so he dumped the clutch again thinking the dead engine would stop it but it took off backwards. Oh sorry, you're talking slot motors.

Comment

Tached it at just above the stated rpm, so all good.
              Thought the same Doc, but have found in other motors that one direction ran better than the opposite.