Looking for car suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for car suggestions

I have a routed, 3 lanes, 44' track. I have been buying cars for about 2 months and would like to add a few more. So far, I have 7 Scalextric, 3 Carrera, 1 Pioneer and 3 NSR cars.

Scalextric: wires are undersized and break easy, I have 3 cars that I have had to discard because there wasn't enough good wire to solder to the blade pickup from the resister. I have problems getting the wheels and tires true. You don't know what you are getting when you buy a Scalextric car. Some cars handle and perform great, others do not. Some have decent tires, some are just awful. Wheel and tires sizes are all over the place, too. The best performing Scalextric car I have is the Back to the Future DeLorean. The worst are the F1 cars; just the opposite of what I would have expected. Consequently, I am really unsure about buying any more Scalextric cars.

Carrera: Generally the Scalextric cars will out-perform them. They could also use better tires. They seem to have much fewer wheel and tires sizes, too. Aside from that, they handle well and are better built. Their blade assemblies are complicated but they hold the slot well and are durable. Wiring seems a lot more robust. I am not sure I will buy more Carrera cars. I might if I see one I like. But, more performance would be nice.

Pioneer: Only one is the General Lee, which is a collector that my son bought. So, I haven't done much with it. It seems to perform very much like some Scalextric cars. But, it appears to be better quality. Selection is poor, though.