Blown Motor Now What?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blown Motor Now What?

Hey Everyone, I’ve been doing slot cars for a couple years, still a rookie in my opinion. I’ve been having issues with my Pikes Peak Torino by Carerra. It’s been bogging down a ton on just on our little scalextric home track mainly in turns. I keep thinking the guide blade is too big for the scalextric track. I got some new slicks for it for Christmas so I took it to the local hobby shop to get some laps on a big track. The motor burned out on lap number 1 and a very gentle speed. One of the local gurus at the shop said the motor was toast.

I oil my cars, general maintenance, and I don’t abuse it. Only drive it once or twice a month. First any ideas why this would happen on a gently used car? Next I guess I’m going to need a new motor, so can anyone give me advice. At this point I’d be fine with loading it with power and putting more magnet in it just for kicks. I don’t know the first thing about swapping a motor. Any advice would be much appreciated.

My sons car also blew a motor today. It takes a lot of abuse since he’s 8, but I still try my best to maintain it. It was an expensive day at the track today.

First thought Carrera guides ARE TOO BIG FOR SCALY TRACK they must be trimmed to operate properly. You should be able to push the car by hand around the whole track without it binding. If it is binding it’s possible the motor has heated up too much trying to push the car around the track setting it up for failure?
    Second thought is be careful oiling the motors it takes very little to lube them and over oiling is common. This can foul the commutator on the armature causing the motor to smoke and short out. You can pull the motor and flush it out with alcohol or brake cleaner to see if it comes around just make sure it’s dry and relubed before you apply power to it