Power Supply and Track Length Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Power Supply and Track Length Question

I'm a newbie as you can tell by my username so forgive me if I am asking a question that might seem obvious to some but here it is anyway... I have an SCX analog track set that I've extended it to a length of approx. 42 feet. The power supply is one that came with the track... Technitoys Toy Transformer MDL #SMU1400210T... Output: 14V DC 1500mA. So far I haven't noticed a decrease in speed or braking but is there a point at which this power supply will not properly energize the cars or make them "sluggish"? Can I extend the track length without needing an additional power supply? Does Technitoys make a power supply with more output? Sorry for all the questions but it's what newbies do.

Have heard that jumpers should be used every 30’. Some tracks have better conductivity than others. Also a good rule is to keep all the contacts in the joints as cleans as possible. Can be a booger, especially when tracks have a lot of scenery.
    Scott.....War Eagle River......Tampa, Florida, USA

Comment

Once the track design is permanent - copper tape it....
      All the way from Sydney, Australia.......

Cheers, Tony.

Comment

the power supply doesn't care how long your track is because the load from the cars doesn't increase, just the drop to the far ends of the track does unless you install jumpers.
        having said that, if you use higher-end cars, an individual power supply for each lane allows them to run independently if you see one car slow down a little when the first one accelerates.

Comment