About Soldering Pinions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• About Soldering Pinions

Before I begin my current scratch build project, I want to ask a question (at the risk of making me look intellectually-challenged, or flat-out ignorant). This project will use an ARP tapered pinion (48P)! Upon delivery, when I opened my parts order, I discovered this pinion, is a Solder-On pinion ! I have no experience with soldering a pinion onto a motor shaft, and am quite concerned about trying it ! Here is my Question : MUST, this pinion, be soldered ?? And just for the general knowledge, solder-on pinions, won't hold (will slip) if not soldered ? I fear getting solder where it should not get to. I know it's just likely time, to learn how to do this, but I had to ask.

Yes, soldered pinions have a larger bore than press-on pinions (which are slightly undersized for the friction fit).
    Clean, flux, and tin the motor shaft (not the pinion), generally just a little bit away from the end of the shaft.
    Place the pinion on the end of the shaft.
    Press it on using the tip of the soldering iron (e.g. hold the iron tip against the pinion/shaft. It will take a few seconds but once everything heats up it will slide right into place.

If you use acid flux, be sure to clean everything afterwards.
    Come Race at The Trace!
    Timberline Trace International Raceway - SW of Mpls, MN
    https://cults3d.com/en/users/chappyman662/creations

Comment

I use a torch and keep the heat on the pinion, not the motor shaft. Put some putty around the base of the motor shaft to absorb excess heat; any kind will do. Hold the motor upright. When the pinion gets hot enough, put some solder on the end and it should suck right in. I don't like using soldering guns because you won't get adequate heat penetration. It's just like soldering copper pipes.

A tapered pinion may hold without solder, but not likely.
      Last edited by Bal r 14; September 24, 2022, 05:30 PM.

Comment