Scalextric Mustang Tuning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scalextric Mustang Tuning

I've been tuning (off and on) for a couple of months on a Scalextric Mustang for Carrera track, w stock magnets, adding chip for digital mode. My objective for all my cars is sub 6-second laps with 5.5 to 5.7 second laps being my best performers. Note: I apologize if this is the wrong sub-forum - I may have overlooked a tuning forum.

I basically tune without the body first knowing that running with the body will almost always add ~0.5 seconds to the lap times. For this car, the chassis-only runs are a comfortable 5 seconds. This should equate to a 5.5 second lap with body-on. But, I'm having trouble getting sub 6 second laps with this car with the body attached.

I'm a home-only racer, so club-rules allow for scraping the under side if the body and this body appears to have a higher COG. I scraped enough material to reduce the weight of the body from 20 to 15 grams - mostly from the under side of the roof. (What's the term for scraping with a razor knife - can't remember.) But this lowering the COG sdid not help - times remained the same. (BTW, I've not had to scraped most of the fleet for the 0.5 second lap adder to apply.)

So is there something else to try? Is this body possibly contorting the chassis into a poor performance geometry when attached. I see I have a little room between the rear wheels and the rear wheel fenders. I could take a little off the body posts to lower the COG a bit more, but it appears I'd have to take off a similar amount off the mate-up between the body and chassis to accomplish this, and that might get messy.

Any ideas appreciated. Thanks.

Planing is the term you couldn't remember.

I have this car and have run it on a wood track for TransAm. Tires are likely your first place to start. Use what works best in your club.