RESIN Bodies: Do's n' Dont's?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RESIN Bodies: Do's n' Dont's?

Didn't know where to place this, so I'll put it here.

I'm new to working with resin bodies. I haven't a clue about them. So, I thought I'd start a thread where the info can gather in one place for not only me, but any others wondering the same things. Here goes!

* What adhesive to reattach parts? I have an old Smilin' Ray '57 Ford, and the front window posts have fractured. What do I need to use to secure and reinforce the joint?

* What adhesive to use to attach styrene mounting posts/etc to the understide of a resin body?

It's time for me to get serious about the three resin bodies I currently have on hand, and expect more in the future. Thanks for any input!

All fer now!

Andre
    Andre Ming
    Poteau, OK

I had a resin body I was going to build a chassis for but I dropped it on the cement floor and it broke in about 5 pieces. I glued it back together with Locktite 380. I hope your resin bodies are more durable.

Comment

• Fathead59
      Fathead59
      HRW Forum Veteran
      Fathead59 commented
      Editing a comment
      I know how you feel , I had bought a few of bodies from RMS resins before he stopped making because of becoming allergic to the resin . I accidentally knocked one off the table and it broke into two peices . But I was able to order a replacement one

Thanks for some input Bal.

Locktite 380 is some expensive stuff, I'll say!

As for durable: Well, the Smilin' Ray '57 body has already got two window posts broke, and it hasn't made a race yet. In fact, it hasn't even been mounted to a chassis yet! I can't help but feel that it being 10+ years old hasn't helped.

So, yes, "durable" will be a necessity for the rough and tumble environment my oval cars live in. All of the Carrera '57 cars have a part or two being held on with tacky putty!